The Department of Physics caters to the basic foundation course, Engineering Physics, a baseline for any engineering stream. Presently, the Department has six highly qualified and dedicated faculty members with specialization in various disciplines of Physics and 4 nonteaching staff. Of the 6 teaching staff, 2 hold Ph.D. degree in Physics and other staff members are pursuing their Doctoral degree. There are 2 research guides under whom scholars are registered for their Ph.D. degree. The areas of specialization of the faculty members are Nanomaterials, Crystal growth and characterization, NLO Studies, Spectroscopy and Thin films. To enrich the knowledge, faculties are motivated to attend Seminars, Conferences, and Faculty Development Programmes and publish their research findings.


   The Department has a well-established laboratory to accommodate sixty students at a time. The faculty members of the Department visit various national laboratories frequently to update and enhance their knowledge to serve the social and student community. Laboratory equipments are available to meet the need for the curriculum framed by Anna University.